February 22, 2016

Ippu-Do - Night Mirage, 1983

Ippu-Do was founded by Masami Tsuchiya in 1979 alongside Akira Mitake and Shoji Fujii. The band released five records, but Tsuchiya went on to release a slew of solo records as well as tour as a guitarist with Japan. With Steve Jansen replacing Shoji Fujii on drums, Night Mirage is a hulking play between towering new wave guitar, skewed synth pop, and avant-garde synth murk, with shades of calypso and a nod to Erik Satie.

The version I'm sharing is the 2006 Japanese re-issue, which includes Masami Tsuchiya's six-track experimental mini-album, Alone (1985). They're entirely instrumental, brooding, and very, very beautiful. Enjoy!


  1. This was every bit as good as the description. Many thanks for posting!

  2. Hi! First of all, thanks for your work!
    This file appears to be corrupted on zippyshare. It says "Size: 0 MB".

    1. thanks for pointing it out--link is fixed. cheers!